Blog No.2: Belated Post due to Working Hard and Playing Hard

boat partyWell my plan was to half-ass my second blog post and just make a picture diary of my 10 days back in San Diego, but my technological “learning disability” hindered this and I self-sabotaged. I know! I will take tons of photos and download that Instagram thingy to make them pretty for my blog! I am so smart, S-M-R-T…

So Instagram turned out to be an entirely new social network; who knew? Everyone. I first found out because my mother “hearted” every single one of my photos and I couldn’t figure out how she saw them. You know you’re behind the times when your mother is “with it” and you aren’t.

But after I, A: sobered up from my over-indulgences and B: figured out how to hook up to the WiFi at the local bar (okay, so not so sober) I made an effort to fix the situation. You can now access the photos from my weekend in San Diego via the Instagram widget on my blog. This may or may not be a great idea. There are a few photos of me being a bit unprofessional. I have a tendency to treat my escapes to San Diego like a trip to Las Vegas. I can’t help it, there is just so much to do and so little time to cram it all in! But my clothes are on in all of them and there are some great pictures of my job and our office Summer party on the Catamaran in San Diego Bay, so I am willing to risk sharing them with you. Plus, at this point, my only followers are my husband (I forced him) and perhaps my mother, from whom the apple does not fall far.

Being back in San Diego was wonderful. It was so nice to be around the tasting table again for new wine releases and being with people who nerd out over wine as much as I do. Don’t get me wrong, I love my husband, but the man falls short as a Wine Consultant. Sometimes I just want to get geeky with my bad self and coo over a new sample bottle and will say something to him like, “Do you get a hint of herbs on the nose??”

Husband: *Crickets chirping*

So it was nice to be around fellow enthusiasts who are also some of my best friends -but not the best of the best- don’t worry Dora and Britany, you’re still my besties! What I love about the Summer party most though, is the re-discovery of wines that my company no longer carries and that the owners have kindly pulled out of their personal cellar. At the beginning of the cruise, when it was still warm and sunny, I re-visited two White Burgundies, a Spanish Albarino,a domestic Sauvignon Blanc and  a tiny bit of our company’s last bottle of DOCG Prosecco. As it cooled down and the sun set, I switched to red, only drinking my favorite Spanish producer, Bodegas Carmelo Rodero’s, Tempranillo Crianza. There were other reds present, too: an awesome Super Tuscan, a fancy Rosso de Montalcino and maybe others- I’m not sure, that’s a lot of wine. The other great thing about the party is that, unlike at the office, the pourings fill a glass, not just a sample size. The not-so-great thing is, I never make it to the rest of the reds.That night I got drunk on some phenomenal wines (that’s the classiest way one can get drunk in my opinion) then caught a ride home and went to sleep!

Aside from work, I really take soaking up San Diego seriously, just ask my liver; I did a lot of research outside my wines. During my stay, I also explored other libations and cuisine that San Diego has to offer.

Wine is actually overshadowed in much of San Diego. The county hosts many craft breweries and tons of bars that specialize in craft cocktails. These drinks are basically the answer to a chef’s culinary masterpiece but in liquid form. My timing to visit was perfect because the Craft Beer and Cocktail Showcase was taking place. The event featured some of the top tier craft cocktail bars and breweries in San Diego County. Here are my favorites:

Favorite Bar:

The Lion’s Share. Our first sales office was originally around the corner from this bar/restaurant, so us wine consultants basically made this our Cheers, where everybody knows your name. The bartenders and cooks are really more like Surrealist painters. I say this for many reasons: the walls are covered with paintings of Narnia-esque animals that take the place of faces in well-known artwork;  the menu consists of obscure – yet enticing and innovative – culinary delights, such as Kangaroo Tartare (delicious) or Wild Boar Meatloaf (friggin’ delicious); and the bartenders have an edginess and artistic vision that would make Salvador Dali proud. Don’t be afraid to order a cocktail that isn’t on the menu or ask the bartender to surprise you, you’ll be glad you did!

Favorite Brewery:

Lost Abbey. Perhaps it’s because I’m in the wine biz, but I love the idea of a beer that can “lay down.” Lost Abbey makes some great beers that evolve over time with complexity, richness and depth. Truly trappist in style with California flare, I could make tasting notes of the subtle nuances without any professional beer background; their beers are impossible not to appreciate. My favorite is the Judgment Day ale: dark, creamy and intoxicating (literally).

PS: San Diego’s beers are known for some crafty IPAs and sour beers. If you are ever in the area, I highly recommend the San Diego Brewery Tours to get your fill and get home safely!

I am very religious, by the way; I take Sunday Brunch very seriously. Thou shalt not brunch somewhere without the following on the menu:

  • Omelets
  • Benedicts
  • Potatoes
  • Alcohol

This religion may stem from my Irish heritage…

There are many MANY great places to brunch in San Diego. Want bottomless mimosas that are mostly sparkling wine with a side of live band karaoke? Check out Analog. Want huge portions with flavor and culinary skill? Experience Hash House A Go Go. But as of this past week, my new favorite is Parkhouse Eatery. I’m sorry to offend any breakfast purists, but an Eggs Benedict atop toasted Focaccia with bacon and avocado hollandaise sauce beside mashed red potatoes and garnished with flash-fried spaghetti??? The way to this Irish-American California girl’s heart is through her stomach. A-May-Zing!

So now, I’m back in Fayetteville. I’m fat and retaining water from too much food and too much fun. Lucky San Diegans; getting to enjoy these wonderful places at their leisure. Meanwhile, I  have to justify my gluttony with that new rap song saying, “YOLO.” …That is from a rap song, isn’t it? I’m so old and white…

Anywho, I only had water with lemon yesterday with dinner, went to bed early and am back on my workout routine- for now. We move to Alabama in the next nine days. Stay tuned for the packing shenanigans. I’m betting Blog No. 3 will be titled, “Drinking and Packing” or, if no drinking takes place, I will probably title it, “FML.”

Leave a Reply

